Press Release <u>Rotary Club of Vero Beach To Focus on the Environment</u> https://www.rotaryofverobeach.com/

Date: 07/19/2018 Media Contact: Camille Yates, <u>camilleyates1@yahoo.com</u>

The Rotary Club of Vero Beach (*Vero's* 1st Club) recently celebrated its 92nd birthday. Chartered on June 9, 1926, club members through the years have exemplified Rotary's motto, "Service Above Self," by donating their time and resources to the local community.

"Rotary is all about connecting and providing service to the community, fellowship with members, and personal and professional development," says Michael Kanuka, President of the Rotary Club of Vero Beach. "We are the oldest Rotary Club in the area and have proudly helped at least 45 local charitable organizations who serve thousands of people. We have raised money in various ways, and established our Vero Beach Rotary Charities Foundation which has donated more than \$100,000 to help local children and adults in need."

In addition to helping those in need locally, the Rotary Club of Vero Beach works on international projects including ones that bring clean water and dental care to people in the Dominican Republic. They also participate in a Homestay program hosting international Rotarians to give them a perspective of what it's like to live in Indian River County.

"We are committed to continuously improving our community and our strategic focus is now on the environment," says Kanuka. "Our recently installed Board of Directors have been brainstorming new civic projects which we will soon be announcing."

Rotary is an international organization boasting more than 1.2 million members in almost 35,500 clubs around the world. The Rotary Club of Vero Beach meets every Thursday at 11:45 am at the Vero Beach Yacht Club, 3601 Rio Vista Blvd., Vero Beach, FL 32963. For membership information contact President, Michael Kanuka at <u>kanuka@oceanmortgage.com</u> or visit <u>www.rotaryofverobeach.com</u>.

Photo Caption – Rotary Club of Vero Beach 2018–19 Officers and Board of Directors: Daniel Fourmont, Past President; Kathryn Barton, Treasurer; Ken Ligon; Michael Kanuka, President; Richard Carlin; Brenda Bradley, Secretary; Stuart Kennedy, President-Elect; Camille Yates, Vice President; Jim Brumbaugh and Larry Parks. (not pictured – Tom Mitchell).

###

